Style? It’s a REMIX business

Daily Prompt asked:

Learning Style “What’s your learning style? Do you prefer learning in a group and in an interactive setting? Or one-on-one? Do you retain information best through lectures, or visuals, or simply by reading books?

Even though I am not a social butterfly, I love group and interactive activities. It’s a really fun way to know each other’s name and be inspired (secretly) by one another even though I am not a talker at all and I usually have thousand seizures inside my mind by the time it’s my turn to speak.

Once I did so bad at maths in high school that I HAD to take a one-on-one study session with a tutor at my home. Even now, I still prefer studying alone. For me, group study never works. My idea of group study finishes the minute the last bell of the day rings. I don’t know why. I am not comfortable with group study at all.

I am being 100% honest when I say I do not know what kind of a learner I am. But I love a class when I am confident that I have enough notes to maintain an understanding of certain idea. I love to sit in the front row and be ready with my pen and paper before the teacher comes to the class because I just hate to ask my friends what I missed while I was searching for my pen and exercise book. It makes me furious when the lecture has already begun and I don’t have my things in front of me. Not traits of a topper though. That’s just the Gemini in me.

Last year, we were assigned 20 Fictions for the academic session but I only made it through 2 of them and I regret it so much. I am so bad at just reading a book. I like the idea of lectures where the teacher is a great storyteller and the students are the audience with the freedom to squeal, laugh, question, offer sorrow as the session unfolds. I know I sound like a parasite heavily dependent on the teacher. I know I am and I am extremely ashamed of myself.

That is why, this year I have decided to study and perform more seriously. Last year I had a lot of problems with dealing with new college, new course, new classmates and forming a study method. This year I hope my performance and effort will be both boosted and justified.

MuLberry Maiya ^_^

Leave a Reply

