Reading about the Angry Vagina

Daily Prompt asked:

Second Time Around Tell us about a book you can read again and again without getting bored — what is it that speaks to you?

I came across Eve Ensler for the first time when I was a 1st year student doing Bachelors study. Of course she wasn’t written and spread around the place. She wasn’t heard about around me. I had came across her accidentally. I was searching ‘books for girls’ on internet one lazy afternoon and that was when I had come across Ensler. Amazon had made a small review about ‘The Vagina Monologues‘ and plenty of people had a lot to say about her book.

I was initially shocked about what the title was bearing. It was openly saying about a female reproductive organ that was such a private and intimate matter. Of course every female has it, what about it? It all changed when ‘The Vagina Monologues‘ and ‘I am an Emotional Creature‘ landed in my hands. I read it once and I couldn’t believe what I was reading. So I read one chapter. I stopped to breathe for sometime. I slept on the book for quite some nights and it was long before I returned to those books again.

The Vagina Monologues‘ opened so much about well.. the Vagina. One woman made it the job of her life to listen to vagina stories of countless women and put it in a book so that one women’s experience and be an eye opener for another women. The book contained so many things related to vagina- a body part so intimate and deep- we’d forget it was even there. It contains Vagina Facts and most non-imagined questions like.. “If you Vagina could speak, what would it say?” or “If your Vagina could wear something, what would it wear?”. Quite Thought Provoking you see.

I’m coming back to the monologues again– more frequently than ever. This is because I had auditioned and I got selected to be one of the storyteller of this year’s The Vagina Monologues V-DAY 2016 Kathmandu Edition that will be taking place on March 4th, 5th and 6th. And in order to do my best, I have been participating in Group Sessions that take place every Saturday for 2 hours from 10 am to 12 pm. For 2 hours, I leave my shame, my fear behind the office doors and I look forward to a free, open and mouth-opening revelations during conversations with 14 other young, smart and passionate women.

We watch videos, we talk about standards separated for women in our society, the problems we’ve faced and how it is okay to fart and still be a women. The whole session has been  very interesting for me because I am not someone who has talked about, thought about such intimate issue. I realized we have so much say. We do not want to be confined under Social decorum. We are as much human.

And the most important part is that this book is not just about some female reproductive organ to women, it is for both male and female so that they can understand and respect what goes through a female body and mind. I think men need it too- we love you sweetie and we want you to understand us in whole and with all our parts.

But I still cannot believe I got my awkward ass in on such a huge event.

MuLberry Maiya ^_^

Leave a Reply

