I decided to say goodbye

Daily Prompt asked:

The Road Less Traveled Pinpoint a moment in your past where you had to make a big decision. Write about that other alternate life that could have unfolded.

PC: lifescript.com

Last year was one of the hardest years of my life.

Last year was everything I wanted. I passed my Undergraduate Studies. My volunteering experience was terrific. I traveled extensively with parents.   I made unforgettable memory with my guy friend and my girl friend. I got in into my dream college.

But along with that, last year this time I was making one of the most important decision of my life. I had got into my dream college. I had made my parents extremely proud. But last year this time, I wasn’t happy. I was worried.

I had made it to my dream college but it took me only a week to realize that this wasn’t right for me. I had selected a course because everyone wanted me to take a profitable subject. And I was foolishly trying to prove my parents that I can survive on something I swore I would never get myself into. Deadlines, Assignments, Tests.. well I had already dealt with that before. It was the subject I was having hard time with. I sat in class but after every class, I died inside everyday. Everyone participated in class while I had absolutely no clue what the subject is and what the hell was I doing in this class.

So, I decided to leave the college.

It was one of the hardest decisions that I had to make last year. After studying for 2 months, I dropped out of that prestigious university. More than for myself, I felt terrible for my parents who were ready to help and invest me with so much love and faith. I had to explain to a lot of people about why and how. Most didn’t seem to care how much difficult surviving there was for me. They only understood that I wasn’t fit for such amazing college.

If I had stayed back in the University, I am certain I would have been crying endlessly. It hadn’t even taken me a week to realize that I wasn’t meant for this subject. The only resort of staying back would have been my friends. My sexy snakes. My power circle of amazingly vocal females. They would have given me tons of tissues to cry and even let me copy an assignment or two to save my ass.

I had to make a fresh start at a new college again. It was very difficult. My friends from University were so mad at me for leaving, but they never left me. We still chat and meet up a lot and I miss everyday of those 2 months I had spent with them.

But yes, it would have been an unimaginable mistake to carry on while I died all inside.

 MuLberry Maiya ^_^

One thought on “I decided to say goodbye

  1. Congratulations for being true to yourself and for making such awesome friends that they’ve supported you and stayed with you. Right now, you are dreaming new dreams for yourself. Make and keep as many friends as you can during this amazing time – you will cherish them on the journey.

    Like

Leave a Reply

